Daily Archives: December 9, 2008

Fashion and Personality: The Perfect Winter Coat

Vicotoria Beckham (Posh) in her Winter Coat

Vicotoria Beckham looking Posh (as usual) in her Winter Coat

Britney Spears looking uncharacteristically posh

Britney Spears exemplifying that a posh coat does not make one posh (although she does look pretty cute)

 

My mornings follow a pretty consistent routine – give or take a few hits of the snooze button.  The only inconsistent part is the El (Elevated Train in Chicago which is like the subway in NY).  Sometimes I run up the stairs, hop right on, and take a seat.  Other times I stand on the platform for 20 minutes, shove my way into the El car with the doors almost closing on my bag, my head under someone’s armpit (I told this to a tall friend who laughed and said he was glad he was usually the armpit), as I struggle to find something to hold onto before the train jolts to a start.

The most entertaining thing on the El is the variety of people who are on the train with me.  El passengers are a mix of people who work downtown or go to school downtown.  I probably won’t be standing next to the partner of a law firm (s/he probably drives or takes a cab), but I could be wedged amongst the Janitor, Associate, and PhD student.

While I’m on the El (assuming it’s a day I have a square of space to negotiate, which is not always the case), I don’t always look around, but one type of person always catches my eye, especially during Chicago winters.  It’s the posh woman standing in her stylish knee high boots, fitted winter coat, beautiful well placed scarf, and Jackie-O sunglasses reading the Red Eye.

Continue reading